Skip to content ↓
Beavers Community Primary School

Beavers Community Primary School

Living, Learning, Laughing

Early Years Foundation Stage

Early Years Foundation Stage

Children in Nursery and Reception follow the Early Years Foundation Stage Curriculum.  This learning challenges children and encourages them to develop into independent, motivated learners and thinkers, full of curiosity about the world around them within a stimulating, happy and secure environment. 

Our Early Years Foundation Stage Curriculum is based on seven areas of learning.  The three prime areas are essential for a child’s healthy development for future learning:

  • Communication and Language
  • Personal, Social and Emotional Development
  • Physical Development

The prime areas are the foundation to a child’s learning and will help them develop skills in the four specific areas.  These are:

  • Literacy
  • Maths
  • Understanding of the World
  • Expressive Arts and Design

Children have opportunities to explore, enquire and to take risks through practical, hands-on learning experiences.  At Beavers Community Primary School we have a rich learning environment, both inside and outside, where children learn and develop well and are kept healthy and safe. Each child's progress is carefully monitored and all the children are encouraged to have an enthusiasm for learning and knowledge and confidence in their ability to be successful learners.